Skip to content

The 2018 Spindletop Award Recipient Announced

The 2018 Spindletop Award Recipient Announced
(Beaumont, TX – May 23, 2018) – The Spindletop Award was created in 1999 to recognize larger area businesses for outstanding corporate citizenship and overall impact on our community.  A committee consisting of Board members and past chairs of the Greater Beaumont Chamber of Commerce chooses the award recipient.  Some of the factors considered in the selection are prior history in our community, overall impact on the economic vitality of Southeast Texas, collaboration with other business and governmental entities, forging a common path for the development of our area and overall reputation as an outstanding organization.
The Greater Beaumont Chamber of Commerce 2018 Spindletop Award Recipient is Trans Global Solutions, Inc.
This year’s winner is a leading provider of transportation, comprehensive railroad and heavy civil construction services.   The company’s diverse capabilities include marine terminal development and operations, industrial real estate development, earthwork and civil construction.  The company was founded in Jefferson County in 1975 and has been not only a leading contributor to the growth of the petrochemical industry, but a mentor and public servant with outstanding contributions to the youth of our area.  The company’s co-owner and CEO has served as Chairman of the Jefferson and Orange County Pilot Commission and as Vice Chairman of the Texas State University System which includes Lamar University.  In addition, he has served many years on the Executive Board of the Three Rivers Council of the Boy Scouts of America.
This year’s Spindletop Award winner will be formally recognized at the Greater Beaumont Chamber of Commerce Annual Meeting on October 9th. The keynote speaker for Annual Meeting will be Governor Greg Abbott. All seats are reserved. Tickets must be purchased prior to the event. For additional information, visit the chamber website at

Previous recipients of the Spindletop Award:
1999 - ExxonMobil
2000 - Entergy
2001- CHRISTUS St. Elizabeth Hospital
2002 - Conn’s
2003 - Hibernia National Bank
2004 - American Valve and Hydrant
2005 - Beaumont Enterprise
2007- Baptist Hospital
2008 - Steinhagen Oil
2009 - Market Basket
2010 - Mason Construction
2011 - AT&T
2012 - Munro’s
2013 - Coburn Supply Company
2014 - Ritter Lumber Company
2015 - Port of Beaumont
2016 - Classic Southeast Texas Auto Group
2017 - Cheniere Energy & Golden Pass LNG